• Skip to primary navigation
  • Skip to main content
  • Skip to primary sidebar
The Daily Dish
  • About Me
  • Recipes
  • Wellbeing🧡
  • Contact
  • Subscribe
  • Gluten-Free
  • Navigation Menu: Social Icons

    Connect With Me

    • Facebook
    • Instagram
    • Pinterest
menu icon
go to homepage
  • About Me
  • Recipes
  • Wellbeing🧡
  • Contact
  • Subscribe
  • Gluten-Free
  • Let's Connect

    • Facebook
    • Instagram
    • Pinterest
  • subscribe
    search icon
    Homepage link
    • About Me
    • Recipes
    • Wellbeing🧡
    • Contact
    • Subscribe
    • Gluten-Free
  • Let's Connect

    • Facebook
    • Instagram
    • Pinterest
  • ×
    • 12 Foods That Somehow Taste Better Eaten Straight From The Fridge
    • 12 Hole-In-The-Wall Eateries In Springfield, Massachusetts Worth Seeking Out In 2027
    • 10 Santa Barbara, California Waterfront Spots For Fresh Seafood
    • 12 Best Barbecue Spots In Denver, Colorado Locals Swear By
    • 14 Must-Try Restaurants In Jonesboro, Arkansas Flying Under The Radar In 2027
    • 17 Types Of Salt And When Each One Actually Makes A Difference
    • 25 Christmas Bakes Worth Starting Before December Arrives
    • 14 Underrated Saginaw, Michigan Restaurants To Add To Your Food Map In 2027
    • 11 Family-Owned Restaurants In Fresno, California Worth Seeking Out
    • 17 Rice Varieties And The Dishes Each One Was Made For
    • 12 Old-School Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Restaurants That Have Been Around For Generations
    • 13 Tucson, Arizona Restaurants Locals Would Rather Keep Secret
    Home » Vegan Resources

    The Big List Of Vegan Wines And Wineries

    Published:May 5, 2022· Modified: Feb 13, 2024 by Keri Bevan

    • Share
    • Email

    Did you know that many wines are not vegan? In fact, many are produced using animal derived ingredients. The good news is, that it's easy to identify a vegan wine if you know how.

    I'll give you all the inside info on identifying vegan wines. Plus, I'll give you a list of wines that are trademarked vegan by The Vegan Society, so you can rest assured that your wine is 100% vegan friendly.

    vegan wineries.
    vegan wineries
    Jump to:
    • What Makes A Wine Vegan Or Non Vegan?
    • How To Tell If A Wine Is Vegan
    • The Big List Of Vegan Wines
    • The Big List Of Vegan Wines
    • Frequently Asked Questions
    • Other Vegan Resources You Might Enjoy
    • Comments

    What Makes A Wine Vegan Or Non Vegan?

    The answer is fining agents. So, what are fining agents, and how are they used in the wine making process?

    Fining agents are substances used to clarify and stabilize wine while it's still in the cellar. When added to a wine, they prevent it from appearing cloudy, giving it a bright, clear color. They work by binding themselves to unwanted particles that are subsequently filtered out.

    The problem is that many fining agents used in the wine making process are made from animal derived ingredients. These include:

    ❌Egg whites (albumin)

    ❌Milk casein

    ❌Gelatin

    ❌Isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes)

    ❌Chitin (fiber from crustacean shells)

    ❌Blood And Bone Marrow

    Fortunately, more wineries are using vegan friendly fining agents these days. Vegan friendly wine fining agents include:

    ✅Bentonite Clay

    ✅Activated Charcoal

    The problem is that most wines do not have an ingredients label that lists the fining agents used in their production.

    So, how are you supposed to determine if the wine you're drinking is suitable for a vegan diet?

    vegan wineries.

    How To Tell If A Wine Is Vegan

    The easiest and safest way is to only consume wines that carry the vegan trademark. When you a buy a wine without a vegan trademark, you can't be sure that it doesn't contain animal-derived ingredients.

    The Vegan Society is the the largest global charity dedicated to identifying and trademarking vegan products. They've currently trademarked over 60,000 vegan products worldwide. If your wine carries The Vegan Society's trademark, you can rest assured that it's free from any animal ingredients.

    If you're feeling ambitious, you can create your own wine, and rest secure in knowing every ingredient that went into it. It's not as hard as it seems! Here's a recipe for pear wine to get you started.

    The Big List Of Vegan Wines

    Below, you'll see a link to download the list of wines approved and trademarked by The Vegan Society. The list is organized by winery. Please note, that not every wine from every winery listed is trademarked. The one's that carry The Vegan Society's trademark are listed.

    You'll find wines and champagne to suit every budget and taste here.

    *This list has been published with permission of The Vegan Society.

    vegan wineries.

    The Big List Of Vegan Wines

    Download the list of wines approved and trademarked by The Vegan Society

    Trademarked Vegan Wines

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Is 19 Crimes wine vegan?

    No, unfortunately 19 Crimes wine is not vegan. “Egg albumin, casein, gelatin, and isinglass are all fining agents used across our brand,” says 19 Crimes. 

    Is Yellow Tail wine vegan?

    Yellow Tail wines use products derived from animals during the winemaking process, so they are not vegan.

    Is Stella Rosa wine vegan?

    Peta says that the following Stella Rosa wines are vegan:  Black, Red, Berry, Rosé, Peach, Pink, Green Apple, Platinum French Vanilla, Moscato, Tropical Mango, Prosecco, Black Lux, Pearl Lux, Pearl Lux Rosé, Orange Moscato, Pineapple, Watermelon, and Ruby Rosé Grapefruit.

    Are Dark Horse wines vegan?

    No, they are not vegan. Their wines contain gelatin or proteins from animal or fish products, so they're not suitable for a vegan diet.

    Is Lamarka Prosecco vegan?

    No, Larmka Prosecco is produced using animal derivived fining agents, so it's not considered vegan friendly.

    Other Vegan Resources You Might Enjoy

    Can Vegans Eat Bread? All Your Questions Answered!

    Is Soy Sauce Vegan?

    Is Maple Syrup Vegan?

    Are Bagels Vegan?

    The Ultimate List Of Cereals That Are Vegan

    Are Chocolate Chips Vegan?

    The Best Substitutes For Honey

    Is Tofu Vegan

    Vegan Picnic Ideas For The Best Summer Ever

    More Vegan Guides

    • 24 Vegetarian Dinners Ready In 30 Minutes Or Even Less
    • A happy, healthy woman as an example of holistic wellness.
      15 Holistic Wellness Tips For A Fulfilling Life
    • An Agarikon mushroom hanging from a tree in a forest.
      Agarikon Mushrooms: Nature's Hidden Treasure
    • Cacao ceremony.
      Cacao Ceremonies - An Ancient Heart Healing Ritual

    Reader Interactions

    Comments

    No Comments

    Leave a Reply Cancel reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Recipe Rating




    Primary Sidebar

    Keri Bevan

    Welcome, I'm Keri

    I'm the food photographer and recipe developer and writer behind Daily Dish.

    More About Me
    SUBSCRIBE

    Popular Posts

    • 17 Chestnut Recipes That Go Far Beyond Roasting Them On The Street
    • 11 Best Long Island, New York Restaurants Worth Visiting In 2027
    • 10 Texas Restaurants Where The Building Is As Strange As The Menu
    • 19 Cooking Oils And The Dishes Each One Suits Best

    Cozy Soups

    • Fava bean soup in a ceramic bowl.
      Fava Bean Soup
    • Vegan potato soup in a bowl with chives and croutons.
      Creamy Vegan Potato Soup
    • Bok choy soup with garlic and ginger.
      Bok Choy Soup With Garlic & Ginger
    • gluten free and dairy free tomato soup
      Creamy Gluten Free And Dairy Free Tomato Soup
    Company logs of people I have worked with.

    Footer

    ↑ back to top

    Recipes

    • Breakfast
    • Lunch
    • Dinner
    • Sauces and Dips
    • Gluten Free

    Newsletter

    • Sign Up! for emails and updates

    Contact

    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Daily Dish Web Stories

    As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

    Copyright © 2024 Daily Dish