Did you know that many wines are not vegan? In fact, many are produced using animal derived ingredients. The good news is, that it's easy to identify a vegan wine if you know how.
I'll give you all the inside info on identifying vegan wines. Plus, I'll give you a list of wines that are trademarked vegan by The Vegan Society, so you can rest assured that your wine is 100% vegan friendly.
What Makes A Wine Vegan Or Non Vegan?
The answer is fining agents. So, what are fining agents, and how are they used in the wine making process?
Fining agents are substances used to clarify and stabilize wine while it's still in the cellar. When added to a wine, they prevent it from appearing cloudy, giving it a bright, clear color. They work by binding themselves to unwanted particles that are subsequently filtered out.
The problem is that many fining agents used in the wine making process are made from animal derived ingredients. These include:
❌Egg whites (albumin)
❌Isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes)
❌Chitin (fiber from crustacean shells)
❌Blood And Bone Marrow
Fortunately, more wineries are using vegan friendly fining agents these days. Vegan friendly wine fining agents include:
The problem is that most wines do not have an ingredients label that lists the fining agents used in their production.
So, how are you supposed to determine if the wine you're drinking is suitable for a vegan diet?
How To Tell If A Wine Is Vegan
The easiest and safest way is to only consume wines that carry the vegan trademark. When you a buy a wine without a vegan trademark, you can't be sure that it doesn't contain animal-derived ingredients.
The Vegan Society is the the largest global charity dedicated to identifying and trademarking vegan products. They've currently trademarked over 60,000 vegan products worldwide. If your wine carries The Vegan Society's trademark, you can rest assured that it's free from any animal ingredients.
If you're feeling ambitious, you can create your own wine, and rest secure in knowing every ingredient that went into it. It's not as hard as it seems! Here's a recipe for pear wine to get you started.
The Big List Of Vegan Wines
Below, you'll see a link to download the list of wines approved and trademarked by The Vegan Society. The list is organized by winery. Please note, that not every wine from every winery listed is trademarked. The one's that carry The Vegan Society's trademark are listed.
You'll find wines and champagne to suit every budget and taste here.
*This list has been published with permission of The Vegan Society.
The Big List Of Vegan Wines
Download the list of wines approved and trademarked by The Vegan Society
Frequently Asked Questions
No, unfortunately 19 Crimes wine is not vegan. “Egg albumin, casein, gelatin, and isinglass are all fining agents used across our brand,” says 19 Crimes.
Yellow Tail wines use products derived from animals during the winemaking process, so they are not vegan.
Peta says that the following Stella Rosa wines are vegan: Black, Red, Berry, Rosé, Peach, Pink, Green Apple, Platinum French Vanilla, Moscato, Tropical Mango, Prosecco, Black Lux, Pearl Lux, Pearl Lux Rosé, Orange Moscato, Pineapple, Watermelon, and Ruby Rosé Grapefruit.
No, they are not vegan. Their wines contain gelatin or proteins from animal or fish products, so they're not suitable for a vegan diet.
No, Larmka Prosecco is produced using animal derivived fining agents, so it's not considered vegan friendly.